this first post

This first post and the posts to come are about telling the truth of my story. And I am not afraid of the truth of my story.

A mentor from childhood told me to never lie to myself, and that thing still sticks with me to this day. I refuse to lie to myself. With authenticity, I do my best to be true to myself, God, and others.

It can be really challenging to do this when people misunderstand or mistreat me. I am sure that you have been misunderstood or mistreated before, and it is not fun. It usually sucks to some degree.

And though I am growing to accept that I will be misunderstood time and time again, it bothers me that so many people just don’t get it. What’s worse is that they think they understand and they have done next to nothing to understand.

And for a while now, I have done my best to accommodate folks when they don’t understand. I have striven to be agreeable and patient, to keep a comfortable distance and act peaceably. I pray to God about it. I write in my journal about it. I talk to my family and friends about it. And for a while, that was working. That was enough.

It is not enough anymore.

It is not enough to bear quietly this load of misunderstanding and mistreatment.

It is not enough to accept graciously that people will have all kinds of thoughts, opinions, and judgments, accurate or not, about a person without ever really knowing said person.

It is not enough to pray, write, and talk about things behind closed doors in the comfort of safe spaces.

It is just not enough when I know there is more. There is so much more.

Now, I have reached a point where I have to speak up; I have to tell my story. Honestly, I am in need of the truth of my story to be spoken in love. And I wonder that maybe I am not the only one, maybe someone is waiting for someone to speak up, and maybe I am that someone.

I know some people would rather I not tell my story, and I am okay with people feeling that way. I figure though, no one will tell my story for me.

This first post and the posts to come are really me taking another step of faith, believing that God can use my storytelling to do some really extraordinary things. I am humbly and courageously trying something new here and trusting that God will use what I write for our good and for His glory.

Ultimately, my prayerful hope is that someone will be able to love God and love someone a little bit better after reading what I have to share. That’s me.

Love Love Love :)

Jesse

4 thoughts on “this first post

  1. Pingback: the plight of the underdog (1) « SUCH IS LIFE.

  2. Pingback: more than what you think | SUCH IS LIFE.

  3. Pingback: the light is so much better | SUCH IS LIFE.

  4. Pingback: even when you are different | SUCH IS LIFE.

LEAVE A REPLY

