people loving people

Let’s talk about people loving people.

I’m not trying to get all sappy and romantic, nor am I trying to be controversial or progressive, so don’t go to any of those places. That’s not where I am trying to go today. Today, I’m talking about love in a very basic, fundamental way.

I think it is significant for people to show love to other people. It actually means a lot to me, and in many ways, it has impacted how I see myself. I am certain that I am not the only one who feels this way.

Generally speaking, I feel like it is an incredible blessing to have people in your life that genuinely love you. It can be family members, neighbors, teachers, coaches, spiritual leaders, whoever. The point is to have people who care about your well-being, who are there for you, who sacrifice things for your benefit.

Personally, I can list off all kinds of different people who love me and who have demonstrated that love in all kinds of ways. I can start with my parents, my grandparents, other extended family who have done things to express that I matter to them. Then there are countless educators, pastors, mentors, counselors, employers and so on that have just poured into me, given me counsel and help along the way with nothing given back. Then, I have mutual friends: classmates from school, colleagues from work, neighbors in the community, folks from all over who express their thoughtful regard for what goes on in my life. I could go on and on and on.

None of these people are perfect. Though I spent my last post talking about the less than wonderful things imperfect people do, these imperfect people of mine have done plenty of wonderful things. Sure, they all have disappointed me here and there, let me down occasionally, but those were exceptional circumstances. Most times, when I was in need, at least one of them was there.

If you want, take some time, and think about all of the people who are for you, that love you. I wonder how many you can count.

I reiterate. It is an incredible blessing to have people in your life that genuinely love you. If you can count one, that is a gift.

Wouldn’t it be great, just like marvelously ideal, if everyone started life with a group of people who loved them? I think it would be wonderful if people entered the world with parents and grandparents, aunts and uncles, just all kinds of people who were in their corner and just genuinely pleased to have them around. And as they navigated life’s journey, they would only meet people who wanted to help them.

This is not the world in which we inhabit.

Everyone does not start life at the same place. For some reason, some people don’t have all of the loving role models afforded to them. Some people don’t even have one parent. I’m not trying to make people feel bad about who they (don’t) have– I’m just saying that this is how it is. And remember, I’m talking about people loving people.

In my opinion, the reality is this: however we enter the world, we all need love. We all need people to know us, to be for us, and to be with us. Those continued expressions and demonstrations of love make a world of difference in how we see ourselves. This takes nothing away from what I think God does for us– I just think it is important for people to do their part and love somebody.

You can know you matter in the world, but that belief needs a certain amount of validation. Without it, you can start to doubt yourself, especially on not-so-good days when it feels like there is reason to believe you don’t matter. And don’t act like you’ve never felt that way. Even if you know God loves you or you are one of the folks who started life with a huge support system, you can still wrestle with insecurity every now and then. Or maybe you compare yourself to someone else and wonder if you are enough. Or maybe you just feel lonely sometimes.

I know I feel lonely sometimes, and I got plenty of Jesus and all kinds of people. That’s another story for another day.

My point is this. People, we all need love. I can remember how amazing it felt when a close friend from college thanked me for being his friend and said that he looked up to me, and that he loved me. It made my day. It made several days actually. Or how I feel a little bit better when my housemates would acknowledge little things I do around the house. Or even when someone I care about sends me a text, just saying “Thinking of you” or “Have a great day!” or “Miss you! Love you!” I imagine that there’s no limit to what we can do to show love to the important people in our lives. And as crazy and confusing as life can be, I hope that there will always be people who are determined to fill the world with a little bit more love.

I know I am.

Today, find a way to express that you care, to demonstrate that someone else matters. Give up something you value so that someone else can benefit. Be one of those people who makes someone’s day. More credit to those who give more and who give expecting nothing in return.

Let’s be people loving people.

Love Love Love,

Jesse

One thought on “people loving people

  1. Pingback: love and holiness | SUCH IS LIFE.

LEAVE A REPLY

